Skip to content

Month: August 2014

Corna Releases their debut-album Angelmaker, recorded by Flemming Rasmussen

Corna is a metal band from Horten, Norway. August 29th they release their debut album Angelmaker, about a year after the recording with the legendary Flemming Rasmussen in Copenhagen. Maybe you’ve already heard their single Dr. Ratib from the album? The hard-hitting album Angelmaker will be released on all the usual streaming services (iTunes, Wimp, Spotify etc) and on CD August 29th.

Corna roots way back to the early nineties, when Cato Johansen (vocal) and Bjørnar Marthinsen (guitar) played together in the band Conspiracy and later in the band Quadrophonia. Corna is formed by Cato and Bjørnar in the summer of 2012 with the formation of the album Angelmaker. The band consists of Cato and Bjørnar, Tom Erik Christensen (drums), Geir Erik Heigård (keyboards) and Morgan Lunde (bass).

We spoke with Flemming Rasmussen, who is famous with the recordings from Metallica, Rainbow, Blind Guardian and more, to continue his expertise with top quality. Fact is, while he is enthusiastic about working with the band this is obviously a long spanding dream which we are very thrilled and excited.  Two weeks of hectic recordings at Ark Studio in Copenhagen including choir, string quartet, brass and a guest vocalist to perform a duet. We chose to mix and master the album in our hometown Horten to ensure a sound we were looking for. The creative and relentless Robert Hauge mixed and mastered the album in Badabing Studio where the album got its own sound.

Angelmaker is recorded with the help from a lot of great musicians, singers and arrangers in addition to Flemming Rasmussen at the helm. Maria Therese Seefeldt Stæhr recorded a duet with Cato on the track Precious Paradise. The jazz musician Hans Mathisen contributed with arranging strings, brass and choir with Bjørnar. Bjørnar contacted Rowan Robertson, famous from DIO`s album Lock up the wolves, and ask if he were willing to guest a guitar solo on the album. Bjørnar and Tom Erik previously played with Rowan Robertson during the Larvik Gitarfestival. He accepted and performed a fantastic solo on the track Fall From Grace.

The Price of Darkness on the album is a tribute to Ozzy Osbourne, who has inspired the band greatly throughout the last three decades.

Corna celebrates the release of Angelmaker August 29th 2014 with a concert at the Glassmagasinet in Horten. Cover: 50 kr, 100 kr incl. CD or 200 kr incl. CD and T-shirt.

Check out the band at or like on Fb and follow on Twitter to read more about the release, concerts or about the band in general.


Label: Catseye Film ‎– CEF 002
Format: CD, Album
Genre: Rock
Style: Heavy Metal


1 Golddigger
2 Clowns
3 The Price Of Darkness
4 Shadows Upon
5 Fall From Grace
6 Insomnia
7 Hallelujah
8 Precious Paradise
9 Dr Ratib
10 Assassin

Companies, etc.

  • Recorded At – Ark Studio
  • Recorded At – Badabing Studio


  • Arranged By [Strings], Arranged By [Choir], Arranged By [Horns] – Bjørnar Marthinsen
  • Bass – Morgan Lunde
  • Choir [Members of Rechoired] – Birgitte Fries Jørgensen, Gitte Mølgård Andersen, Hanne Abild Laursen, Hans Fogh, Henrik Hansen (4), Jacob Schmidt (2), Kristina Qvist, Lasse Kramp, Lise Lykke Christensen, Louise Rygaard Jensen, Martin Beck (2)
  • Conductor [Choir] – Peter Bom
  • Cover [Design] – Marthine Simonsen
  • Cover [Front Cover] – Bjørn Myreze
  • Drums – Tom Erik Christensen
  • Guitar – Bjørnar Marthinsen
  • Guitar [Solo] – Rowan Robertson (tracks: 5)
  • Horns [Horn] – Susanne Skov
  • Horns [Trumpet] – Bo Rande
  • Keyboards – Geir Erik Heigård
  • Lyrics By – Cato Johansen
  • Mixed By, Mastered By – Robert Hauge
  • Music By – Bjørnar Marthinsen (tracks: 1 to 10), Cato Johansen (tracks: 1 to 10), Geir Erik Heigård(tracks: 9), Morgan Lunde (tracks: 1, 9), Tom Erik Christensen (tracks: 9)
  • Other [Front Cover Modell] – Xilje Yannicke Battlestar
  • Photography By [Band Photo] – Ole-Kristian Bjerkeli
  • Photography By [Front Cover Photo] – Espen Winther
  • Producer – Bjørnar Marthinsen, Cato Johansen
  • Recorded By, Edited By – Flemming Rasmussen
  • Strings [Cello] – Soma Alpass*
  • Strings [Viola] – Nanna Hartmann Rasmussen
  • Strings [Violin] – Alexandra Blais, Christian Ellegaard
  • Vocals – Cato Johansen
  • Vocals [Duet] – Marie Therese Seefeldt Stæhr (tracks: 8)